St. Albert Minor Hockey Association (SAMHA) comprises approximately 1800 youth players and over 700 volunteers. Initially formed in 1980, SAMHA has grown to be one of the largest minor hockey associations in Western Canada.

Our program consists of a strong base of community hockey, supplemental development opportunities and participation in the highest level of elite programs through the St. Albert Raiders Hockey Club.

SAMHA has a dedicated community of volunteers that support minor hockey on and off the ice. We strive to deliver a full range of hockey programs to enhance participants' abilities at all levels.

We respectfully acknowledge that we are on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional lands of First Nations and Métis peoples. As treaty People, Indigenous and non-Indigenous, we share the responsibility for stewardship of this beautiful land.


The vision of the St. Albert Minor Hockey Association is to be recognized as the premier minor hockey association in Alberta.


The mission of the St. Albert Minor Hockey Association is to provide a full-ranged hockey program to enhance the abilities of participants at all levels.










St. Albert Minor Hockey Association was officially formed in 1980, however as far back as 1964, minor hockey was sponsored by the St. Albert Kinsmen Club. At that time, registration was $3 a player and all games were played outdoors. Shortly after this, members set out to build the first covered arena in St. Albert, and a new building was constructed on Perron Street.  Originally named The St. Albert & District Arena, it later became fondly known as the Ducky Dome.


As the City of St. Albert continued to grow rapidly, so did organized hockey.  Two new arenas were constructed; Akinsdale Arena in 1983 and Campbell Park twin arenas in 1992. The St. Albert Kinsmen Club was instrumental in advocating and funding the construction of these new facilities. In the late 80's and early 90's SAMHA quickly began to see multiple players move onto professional playing careers. Most notably, Hockey Hall of Fame Inductee Jarome Iginla. SAMHA was at the forefront of female hockey and formed their first female hockey team in 1994. Megan Mikkelson was on this team and became the first female SAMHA player to receive an NCAA scholarship and play for the Canadian National Women's hockey team.


Over the past 40 years, SAMHA has continued to be an important part of the community, and today has over 1800 members.


Awards and Scholarships

Chris Rogers Memorial Scholarship
Each season, SAMHA recognizes a U18 player who demonstrates a strong commitment to excellence in their academics and within their hockey community. In 2021 we were proud to present this award to Taylor Tagg.

2023 Applications Now Open. LEARN MORE


Referee Scholarship Award
The Referee Scholarship is awarded to a referee that demonstrates strong community involvement, participation in athletics, and overall academic achievement. In 2021 we presented this to Madison McCoy.

2023 Applications Now Open. LEARN MORE


Barry Horn Award
Well known in the community for his devotion to hockey and ringette, Barry placed the feelings, development and dreams of the young people he coached as his highest priority. To Barry, hockey involved each player’s entire family. People who contribute their time and effort are the heart of our community and are a precious resource to St. Albert Minor Hockey Association. The vital work of volunteers throughout the SAMHA organization is recognized through the Barry Horn Memorial Award. In 2021 Sue Forest-Trainor was awarded this honour.

2023 Nominations Now Open. LEARN MORE